Centennial Celebration


WHEREAS, on the 16th day of April, 1913, Texas Governor O. B. Colquitt signed Senate Bill No. 183 (1913), creating the Texas State School of Mines and Metallurgy to be established by the citizens of El Paso and overseen by the Board of Regents of the University of Texas; and

WHEREAS, the institution was renamed the College of Mines and Metallurgy in 1920, renamed Texas Western College in 1949, renamed The University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP) in 1967, and is today the second oldest academic institution in The University of Texas System; and

WHEREAS, UTEP is today a national leader in American higher education, recognized by the National Science Foundation as one of six model institutions for excellence in the nation (in 1996), by the Carnegie Foundation as a Doctoral/Research-Intensive institution (2000), by the Texas Legislature as one of seven emerging Tier One institutions in the state (2009), by the U.S. Department of Education as the national research institution with the lowest net price (2012), and by Washington Monthly as #12 overall among all national research universities and #1 in fostering social mobility in the lives of its graduates (2012); and

WHEREAS, UTEP’s more than 100,000 alumni are now accomplished leaders in fields of science, engineering, medicine, politics, business, law, entertainment, arts, and education; and

WHEREAS, UTEP currently ranks second in the nation in awarding bachelor’s degrees to Hispanics, and is among the top 10 in preparing Hispanic students for success in completing doctoral degrees; and

WHEREAS, UTEP now offers 70 bachelor’s, 75 master’s, and 19 doctoral degree programs to its current population of more than 22,000 students; and

WHEREAS, UTEP plays a significant role in the economic development and quality of life of the Paso del Norte region; and

WHEREAS, the racial barrier-breaking performance of the 1966 Texas Western College NCAA Champion men’s basketball team marked a turning point in the history of American higher education and stands as a symbol for all UTEP students who choose university education for the achievement of individual aspirations, the fulfillment of family dreams, and the enrichment of communities in Texas and the nation; and

WHEREAS, UTEP is still the only university in the state of Texas that has won a men’s national basketball championship; now therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that the 83rd Legislature of the State of Texas honor The University of Texas at El Paso on the occasion of its 100th anniversary and commend the many individuals who have contributed to the success of the university; and, be it further

RESOLVED, that an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for display at The University of Texas at El Paso as an expression of high esteem and best wishes from the [Senate, House of Representatives].

The Centennial Celebration will dramatically change the University’s campus. Stay informed of the latest construction timelines and street closures at onthemove.utep.edu

UTEP logo

State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links