The University of Texas at El Paso traces its history back to 1914, when it opened as the State School of Mines and Metallurgy. In the century since then, nearly everything has changed.
The school changed names several times, moved location in 1917, united with the El Paso Junior College in 1927, expanded rapidly after World War II, and earned national attention in 1966 when its team of all-black starting basketball players beat an all-white Kentucky team for the NCAA championship. Over the past 30 years, the University has expanded its facilities and strengthened its research capacities while continuing to serve students of the Paso del Norte region.
UTEP’s Centennial has given researchers the opportunity to explore UTEP’s History and dig up new historical facts. Read more in UTEP’s Encyclopedia.
First to Desegregate
In 1955 we desegregated, becoming the first undergraduate institution in Texas to welcome African American students into our community.
Join the Celebration
Watch Glory Road
Visit the Welcome Center
Read the history pamphlet
Browse the Encyclopedia